Karnataka government orders removal of works by authors who withdrew consent from school textbooks

The Karnataka Textbook Society (KTBS) on Friday decided to drop the works of authors for the current academic year, who withdrew their consent from school textbooks.

A total of 11 authors had written to the education department seeking the withdrawal of their works from Kannada language textbooks as a sign of protest against the “unconstitutional” and “undemocratic” textbook revision process . Of which seven authors whose works are part of this academic year will leave.

The authors also alleged that textbook committee chief Rohith Chakrathirtha, whose committee is now dissolved, insulted the national anthem and dishonored the state.

According to the circular issued by the managing director of KTBS, the works of seven authors will be removed from the first, second and third language textbooks of Kannada textbooks found in classes 6, 9 and 10. The circular he also directed all government, aided and unaided schools to abandon the works of the seven authors.

Authors whose works have been dropped include, Devanur Mahadeva, G Ramakrishna, Roopa Hassan, Irappa M Kambali, Satish Kulkarni, Sukanya Maruti and Doddahullur Rukkoji.

Earlier, school education minister BC Nagesh had mentioned that under the rules, perpetrators cannot withdraw their consent once given.

The Karnataka state government faced severe backlash from opposition parties, authors and people from the literary community for “distorting” and “saffronizing” the textbook for political gains. The government then ordered about eight changes to the textbooks, according to which teachers are teaching students.

Leave a Comment

+1 631-259-7728
WhatsApp chat +1 631-259-7728