Know the 9 VCs of Kerala universities who were asked to resign by the governor

Governor Arif Mohammed Khan, who was acting as chancellor of universities in the state, asked the vice-chancellors (VCs) of nine Kerala universities to resign from their posts, citing a Supreme Court decision that overturned lar the appointment of the vice-president of the APJ Abdul Kalam Technology. University alleging that it was in violation of UGC norms.

Khan’s move sparked a political storm in the state with Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Monday issuing a stern warning to the constitutional chief asking him not to cross the limits of his powers and the ruling LDF announcing a two-day protest days across the state starting Tuesday.

Amid growing criticism of his decision and the VCs failing to submit their resignations by 11.30am on Monday, the chancellor issued show cause notices to them seeking their responses by November 3.

At the same time, he also said that some of the VCs have a good track record and clarified that his decision is based on the judgment of the supreme court.

The resignations of the nine VCs were called for as some of them were appointed from a single-name list and in others the chief secretary of the state was a member of the selection committee, both assuming a violation of UGC norms according to Khan.

Below is the list of VCs in dispute

Dr VP Mahadevan Pillai he was the Principal of the University of Kerala when his resignation was called for a few days before his tenure ended.

Before being appointed as the VC of the University of Kerala, he was a Professor and Head of the Department of Optoelectronics at the Central University of Kerala and before that he was a Professor in the Department of Physics at St. Gregorios College in Kottarakara from 1982 to 2001.

He completed his PhD in Physics from the University of Kerala in 1996.

After Pillai’s term ended on Monday, the Raj Bhavan tweeted that Khan as chancellor has directed Dr Mohanan Kunnumnal, the director of the Kerala University of Health Sciences, to also exercise powers and perform the duties of director from the University of Kerala from Tuesday.

Dr. Sabu Thomas, VC Mahatma Gandhi Universityhe was professor of Polymer Science and Engineering at the School of Chemical Sciences and also founding director of the International and Interuniversity Center for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology.

He holds a PhD (Engineering) from the Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur and before starting his long academic career at MG University in 1987, he had worked with Bata India Ltd and Bayer India Ltd for short periods.

Dr KN Madhusoodanan is the 14th Vice-Chancellor of Cochin University of Science and Technology (CUSAT) and took over in April 2019.

He has more than 20 years of experience in teaching and research. He had served as Head of the Department of Instrumentation, CUSAT, Member of the Academic Council, CUSAT and as Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Technology, MG University, Kottayam, according to the CUSAT website.

Dr K Riji John was appointed VC of Kerala University of Fisheries and Ocean Studies (KUFOS) andn September 2020.

He completed his M.FSc at the University of Agricultural Sciences, Bangalore in 1988, according to the KUFOS website, which also said he did his PhD at the Institute of Aquaculture, University of Stirling, UK in Virology of Pisces in 1997 under the Commonwealth. scholarship

He started his academic career in 1990 as an assistant professor at the Faculty of Fisheries and Research Institute, Thoothukudi, Tamil Nadu Veterinary and Animal Science University, he said.

Dr Gopinath Ravindranthe VC of Kannur University, was earlier in news about his re-election to the post after his tenure ended last year and the matter had reached the Kerala High Court, which had upheld the renewal.

Ravindran taught Modern Indian Economic History in the Department of History and Culture at Jamia Millia Islamia in Delhi before coming to the University of Kannur and is an alumnus of St Stephens College and Jawaharlal Nehru University in Delhi and from the London School of Economics in the United Kingdom.

Dr MS Rajasree was the VC of APJ Abdul Kalam University of Technology, whose appointment was quashed by the apex court alleging violation of University Grants Commission (UGC) rules.

It was armed with this high court order that Khan had proceeded to seek the resignation of eight other VCs of the state’s universities.

Meanwhile, Raj Bhavan sources had said that the state government had accepted the high court’s decision on Rajasree and had also recommended a replacement in a letter sent to the chancellor.

Before being appointed VC of APJ Abdul Kalam Technological University in 2019, Rajasree was the Principal of the Government College of Engineering at Barton Hill here.

He is an alumnus of the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, from where he did his M.Tech and PhD in Computer Science and Engineering.

Dr MV Narayanan was appointed VC of Sree Sankaracharya Sanskrit University in March 2022.

He was a professor and head of the English department at Calicut University before being appointed VC and has a teaching experience of 32 years.

Dr MK Jayaraj was the Dean of the Faculty of Environmental Studies and Head of the Physics Department at CUSAT before being appointed as the VC of the University of Calicut in July 2020.

Jayaraj completed his BA and MA from Calicut and Cochin Universities respectively. He obtained his PhD from Cochin University. Dr. V Anil Kumar was appointed as the Principal of Thunchathezhuthachan Malayalam University in 2018.

Anil Kumar he was a professor and head of the department of the Malayalam department at the University of Calicut, he was also a member of the advisory committee of the Kendra Sahithya Academy and part of the board of studies of several universities in India, according to the website from Thunchathezhuthachan Malayalam University.

Leave a Comment

+1 631-259-7728
WhatsApp chat +1 631-259-7728