Prizes for Distinguished Alumni convened by the IISc

Prof Bharat Kumar Bhargava, Cor (Retd) HS Shankar, Dr Krishna Mohan Vadrevu, Dr Krishnan Nandabalan and Prof M Narasimha Murty have been selected for the Indian Institute of Science (IISc) Distinguished Alumni Awards for in the year 2022.

The annual awards recognize the outstanding contributions made by IISc alumni/ae to their profession, society and the Institute.

The applications received are evaluated by a committee chaired by the Director, IISc.

Professor Bhargava is a professor of computer science at Purdue University, USA, and has made pioneering contributions to cyber security, applied machine learning and autonomous systems, an IISc statement noted.

Colonel (Retd) Shankar, currently Chairman and Managing Director of Alpha Design Technologies Private Limited, Bangalore, has served in various fields and operational units as well as prestigious appointments in the Army till his voluntary retirement in 1986.

The Chief Executive Officer of Bharat Biotech International Limited, Dr. Vadrevu is known for its contributions to indigenous vaccine development for infectious diseases, including a typhoid conjugate vaccine, a new low-dose rotavirus vaccine and Covaxin, which was developed during COVID-19. 19 pandemic.

Dr. Nandabalan is President and CEO of InveniAI LLC and President and Co-Founder of BioXcel Corporation.

It noted that it has established an AI-based technology platform to discover new biological connections from published scientific data in order to develop affordable treatments for diseases.

Professor Murty, currently an honorary professor at IISc, has made pioneering contributions to computer science, particularly in the area of ​​pattern recognition, and his publications have garnered a large number of citations, the statement said.

IISc Director Professor Govindan Rangarajan said, “We hope that their achievements will serve as an inspiration to young researchers to strive for excellence in their respective fields.” The awardees will be honored at an event to be held in December 2022, during which the 2020 and 2021 awardees will also be recognized, the statement added.

Leave a Comment

+1 631-259-7728
WhatsApp chat +1 631-259-7728