UGC directs institutes to register students on ABC portal: How to login, participating universities

The University Grants Commission (UGC) will soon ask all institutes of higher education (HEIs) offering online and ODL programs to compulsorily register their students on the Academic Bank of Credit (ABC) portal:

What is the ABC portal?

The ABC Portal is a national level facility to promote flexibility of curriculum framework and interdisciplinary/multidisciplinary academic mobility of students in Higher Education Institutions (HEIs) in the country with an appropriate ‘credit transfer’ mechanism.

What is the ABC portal for?

The main functions of the ABC are registration of HEIs under the ABC scheme and, opening, closing and validation of student academic accounts, credit verification, credit accumulation, credit transfer/redemption of students and also the promotion of ABC among the interested parties.

How to register on the ABC portal?

Step 1: Visit the Academic Bank of Credit (ABC) portal —

Step 2: On the home page, click on the ‘my account’ link available at the top right corner and choose the ‘student’ option.

Step 3: You will be redirected to a new window. Login/Register with your username/mobile number or government issued ID cards.

Step 4: Enter all required information and upload documents, if required.

Will each student have their own login?

In the ABC portal, each account holder will be given a unique ID after opening a unique/individual academic bank account in digital format.

Is the ABC portal mandatory for HEIs?

UGC will tomorrow send a letter to 58 HEIs offering online and 86 HEIs offering ODL programmes, directing them to compulsorily adopt the ABC portal. HEIs must mandatorily create students’ Academic Credit Bank (ABC) ID and deposit their credits in the ABC for programs offered in ODL and online mode.

Additionally, the LMSs of all universities offering online programs can be similarly integrated with the ABC portal.

Is it being entered into all programs?

No, as of now, the UGC chief is asking HEIs to adopt this portal and credit system only for ODL and online programs.

Which universities are adopting the ABC portal?

The universities that have introduced this portal are University of Delhi, University of Bombay, Jamia Millia Islamia, Jawaharlal Nehru University, Arunachal Pradesh National Institute of Technology, Tezpur University, Central University of Punjab, University of Hyderabad, Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU), Vellore Institute of Technology, OP Jindal Global University, Chandigarh University, Datta Meghe Institute of Medical Sciences, Guru Nanak Dev University, Lovely Professional University, Symbiosis International Deemed University, Bharati Vidyapeeth, Mizoram University, Mahatma Gandhi Antarrashtriya Hindi Vishwavidyalaya and the English and Foreign Languages ​​University

Leave a Comment

+1 631-259-7728
WhatsApp chat +1 631-259-7728