UGC transfers three scholarship programs to ministries

The University Grants Commission (UGC) recently announced that three national scholarship schemes have been transferred to the concerned ministries. The Commission uploaded the official notification on the official website of UGC —

“It is brought to the notice of all concerned that UGC implemented these schemes only upto 30th September 2022. The concerned ministries are implementing the schemes directly, from 1st October 2022. All are advised to interested parties to make any future correspondence in this regard with the following agencies/ministries,” the official notification said.

As per the official notification, the National Fellowship for SC (NFSC) and the National Fellowship for OBC have now been transferred to the Ministry of Social Justice and Empowerment. In addition, the Maulana Azad National Scholarship has been awarded to the Ministry of Minority Affairs.

The nodal agency for NFSC is National Scheduled Cast Finance and Development Corporation and National Backward Classes Finance and Development Corporation for NFOBC.

The National Fellowship for SC (NFSC) is open to candidates who belong to a Scheduled Caste and are pursuing higher studies in Science, Humanities, Social Sciences and Engineering and Technology. There are 2000 places for all subjects of this scholarship.

Similarly, the National Fellowship for OBC is open to candidates who belong to Other Backward Classes (OBCs) and are pursuing higher studies. There are 300 scholarship places available each year for all subjects.

The Maulana Azad National Scholarship offers five-year scholarships in the form of financial aid to students from six notified minority communities: Buddhist, Christian, Jain, Muslim, Parsi and Sikh.

Leave a Comment

+1 631-259-7728
WhatsApp chat +1 631-259-7728